City Council


  • 6 pm
  • 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of every month
  • City Hall
    401 S Ventura Street
    Council Chambers
    Ojai, CA 93023

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Agendas, Minutes, and Video

City Council Meetings Live Stream

Contact Mayor & All City Council Members

  1. Mayor-Stix-Portrait-2023

    Betsy Stix


    At Large

    Term: 2022 to 2024

  1. Council-Member-Rule-Portrait-2023

    Leslie Rule

    Council Member

    District 1

    Term: 2022 to 2026

  1. Council-Member-Lang-Portrait-2023

    Rachel Lang

    Council Member

    District 2

    Term: 2022 to 2026

  1. Council-Member-Whitman-Portrait-2023

    Andrew Whitman

    Mayor Pro Tempore

    District 3

    Term: 2022 to 2026

  1. Councilwoman-Francina-Suza-2017

    Suza Francina

    Council Member

    District 4

    Term: 2020 to 2024


The City of Ojai has a five-member City Council that serves as the legislative body for the City of Ojai. The City Council governs by passing legislation as either an Ordinance or by Resolution. The Council makes provision for the enforcement of legislation, sets license and other fees, sets salary ranges, authorizes the annual City budget, and approves expenditures. The Council appoints the City Manager and City Attorney, and also serves as the governing board for the Ojai Redevelopment Agency Successor Agency as authorized by state law. Additionally, The City Council makes appointments to the City's various advisory commissions, committees and boards.

View the City of Ojai's January 23, 2024 Notice of Reorganization (PDF).


At its Regular Meeting on Tuesday, December 11, 2018, the Ojai City Council voted to adopt Ordinance 889 (PDF) changing the City's electoral code to transition from an at-large election system to a district-based election system, pursuant to Elections Code Section 10010 and the California Voting Rights Act. It further voted to establish district boundaries and released a district-based election map delineating the boundaries for the four districts.

This change means that as each City Council seat comes up for renewal, the candidate elected to each seat will be chosen solely by the electorate within that district. All other offices, i.e., Mayor, City Treasurer, and City Clerk are chosen by voters city-wide.

Ojai City Council

The district for each Council member is as follows:

  • District 1: Leslie Rule
  • District 2: Rachel Lang
  • District 3: Andrew Whitman
  • District 4: Suza Francina